Hitchcock, Turgeon headed to Hockey Hall of Fame

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced their Class of 2023 earlier this week.  The Class includes former St. Louis Blues coach Ken Hitchcock, 90s star Pierre Turgeon, and former goaltender Tom Barasso.

Other members of the Class of 2023 include Henrik Lundqvist, Pierre Lacroix, Corline Ouellette and Mike Vernon.  They will be officially inducted on November 13.

Hitchcock served as head coach of the Blues for six seasons from 2011-17. His 413 games behind the bench rank No. 2 in franchise history, as do his 248 wins. He oversaw five postseason appearances in St. Louis, reaching the Western Conference Finals in 2015-16. Hitchcock was awarded the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s Coach of the Year after his first year with the Blues in 2011-12. For his NHL career, Hitchcock coached 1,598 games across 23 years and coached the Dallas Stars to the lone Stanley Cup Championship in franchise history in 1999. His 849 career coaching wins rank No. 4 in NHL history.

Turgeon played for the Blues for parts of five seasons and was acquired via trade nine games into the 1996-97 season. With 355 points across 327 games, Turgeon ranks No. 16 in points and No. 7 in points per game in franchise history. Turgeon was a critical member of the 1999-00 Presidents’ Trophy team and played in 50 playoff games with the Blues. Through 1,294 games across 19 seasons of his NHL career, Turgeon recorded 515 goals and 812 assists for 1,327 total points. His career point total ranks No. 34 in NHL history.

Barrasso is most known for his time in Buffalo and Pittsburgh.  The goaltender finished his playing career with six games in St. Louis in the 2002-03 season. Barrasso won back-to-back Stanley Cups with the Penguins in 1990-91 and 1991-92, also winning both the Vezina Trophy and Calder Trophy as the NHL’s top goaltender and Rookie of the Year in the 1983-84 season.

Recommended Posts